BACKGROUND:

December 18, 2011

When I saw a thumbnail of this on Pinterest I thought how lovely, what kind of stone, mineral, material is that? Curiosity got the better of me and I then discovered this was not a beautiful detailed photograph. No, it is a painting. Oil on masonite by the astonishing Carly Waito. I know that it is obvious that I like realism in art due to previous posts, but even I sometimes doubt the validity of reproducing something perfectly as more than just an exercise in technique. However after I read the info on Carly’s website I genuinely agreed with the fact that her meticulous renderings do in fact make me appreciate the stunning beauty of these semi-precious stones. I love to look at them, their colours, structures and facets and then I constantly remind myself that they are paintings and the circle of wonder begins again, the colours, structures etc etc.

Leave a Reply

