DESIGN: Gold

June 25, 2011

I love it. And I like the nasty really yellow shiny gold. I can’t own the real stuff. I can’t afford it. But I equally like the pretendy stuff. In fact, I think I prefer it. It doesn’t matter if I dent it, smash it, drop it down the loo, fling it off my neck, wrist or finger whilst sweatily dancing with furious abandon.

Due to this gold fetish I have been coveting a gold-frame bike. I searched the interweb and found this glittering creation. It even has red handled bars! How much do I love Red? As much as I love Gold. You are gorgeous Superbe Raleigh, Japanese Raleigh.

 

I am not likely to own that vintage bike however I might be able to own this trinket if I save and save. I have been lucky enough to see it in real life! And it’s glorious, as most of it is in a muted brushed gold, bar one beautiful shiny facet. It’s feels like it could and should be worn everyday and yet it’s something very special. Props to my friend Diane Butler.


And finally, I’m a sucker for really heavy weight card, embossing and gold platting, so yes please to this work by Tadeu Magalhaes.

One Response to “DESIGN: Gold”

  1. […] The delicacy of these bowls and vessels is so tantalizing. I think if I owned these I would feel like I was handling some precious dinosaur egg. It’s the work of artist and designer Susan Dwyer the gorgeous frailty is achieved through papier-mâché. Impressive, plus it’s got some gold! […]

Leave a Reply

