MINE: The gift that inadvertently keeps on giving

May 20, 2011

Weird… a couple of weeks ago I remembered this drawing I did in about 1993. I had enjoyed it so much. I vividly remembered the upper right hand corner of the drawing as I really got lost capturing the hair during this copying exercise. The photograph was stunning so it was easy to stare at it for hours.

I then remembered that years later I thought I had given it to a friend as a gift and then rudely asked for it back, possibly to insert into a portfolio. (Memory is not my strong suit). After that I didn’t have a clue. I certainly did not think I would see it again.

But yesterday, my brother gave me a gift. He took out a black framed picture and flipped it around to reveal that same drawing. I was gob-smacked, because in my reminiscing about this drawing I had also wondered would I like it as much today as I did then. It has imperfections and has been handled, rubbed and smudged since that long-time-ago. But yes, I do still like it. And it’s just lovely to think that someone so thoughtfully took it, mended it and framed it for me.

Let’s forget that I gave it to my friend so as not to complicate matters. Are you reading this? Do you know who you are? Can I keep it please?

And finally, I cannot for the life of me remember who it is. I vaguely remember a book about Blue Note album covers, but that is all I have to go on.

Leave a Reply

